Ultimate Amiga

Network Boards => AMOS Factory => AMOS Programming Environment => Topic started by: Amiten on January 04, 2013, 10:56:56 AM

Title: Play Music From Fast Ram In Amos
Post by: Amiten on January 04, 2013, 10:56:56 AM
I try to play a Mod file all ready converted to .abk music bank for Amos from Fast Ram but at the moment I can´t.


I try with this for example:

Reserve as data 6,400000
load "music/Xamivania.abk",6
music 1


and when I want to play the music with command music 1 Amos say
not bank reserved!! but I see in direct mode the bank 6 is created and call it music.?¿

if any help are wellcome The idea its load the Song in Fast Mem and play from there in Amos Profesional.

Thanks all the best.
Title: Re: Play Music From Fast Ram In Amos
Post by: SamuraiCrow on January 04, 2013, 06:52:25 PM
The chipset cannot access the samples unless they are in Chip RAM.  If you load them into Fast RAM you'll either get an error or a crash.

If you've seen modfiles played from Fast RAM on other games and demos, it's because they copy the samples to Chip RAM when they load.

Using MED is the best of both worlds because it "scatter loads" things to multiple memory buffers.  It loads the samples only to Chip RAM and the rest of the music data gets loaded to Fast RAM.  Unfortunately, Amos doesn't support any other way to buffer in Fast RAM.
Title: Re: Play Music From Fast Ram In Amos
Post by: Lonewolf10 on January 04, 2013, 11:42:43 PM
Whilst SamuraiCrow is correct in what he says, he has overlooked the fact you are loading the music file into bank 6.
Standard AMOS music files can only be played from bank 3 (and may have to be called "Music", not "Data"). If you load in multiple music files, you can swap them around by using the command Bank Swap, e.g:
Bank Swap 3,6
Title: Re: Play Music From Fast Ram In Amos
Post by: Amiten on January 05, 2013, 09:51:25 AM
ok, thanks I understand now the thing...

Thanks for response best regards.
Amiten
Title: Re: Play Music From Fast Ram In Amos
Post by: Volvo_0ne on April 18, 2016, 06:09:41 PM
OK then how do load more than one music.abk?

Do you have to bank swap (seems wasteful) or is there a way you can load more than one Music into the same bank?

I have scored the manual for info on this and can find no info.

eg Load "Music1.abk" & "Music2.abk" into bank 3 then do

Music 1

then later on in program...

Music Off
Music 2

SOunds easy BUT how do I load both titles into the same bank?

Thanks V1
Title: Re: Play Music From Fast Ram In Amos
Post by: KevG on April 18, 2016, 09:27:02 PM
Loading more than one music file at a time into a memory bank is a waste of valuable memory.
It would be more efficient to reserve a bank for the largest of all your music files.
Then load them into this bank when you need to play them.
Title: Re: Play Music From Fast Ram In Amos
Post by: Volvo_0ne on April 21, 2016, 05:20:04 PM
Loading more than one music file at a time into a memory bank is a waste of valuable memory.
It would be more efficient to reserve a bank for the largest of all your music files.
Then load them into this bank when you need to play them.

Agreed but in  this particular case, memory isn't a problem but speed of changing music track is.