Ultimate Amiga

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Retrieving AMOS Bank text data...  (Read 3537 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Emaxe

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4
Retrieving AMOS Bank text data...
« on: October 28, 2007, 04:25:33 PM »

Hi,

I have switched my good ol' Amiga on and have started to code again with the great AMOS! I've lost the manual, though, and I can't find what I'm looking for in the online help. Maybe one of you can help?

I've made a Memory Bank containing text (about 40 strings). I can't seem to use this bank. I don't know how to "call" one of the slots of the text bank in the editor. Like, for a Bob bank, you would use "Bob" or "Put Bob", but what when it's text? I would much appreciate something like:

MYTEXT$=BankSelect(16,12)

or the like... Obviously the above won't work! Anyone can help and gimme the right command?
Logged

rednova

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 225
    • http://www.feryogi.com
Re: Retrieving AMOS Bank text data...
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2007, 11:51:33 PM »

Hi:

I dunno the answer to your question. But I can check the manual later and see if I can find it.
Cheers!!!!!!!

rednova
-mobilis in mobile-
Logged
-mobilis in mobile-

Emaxe

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4
Re: Retrieving AMOS Bank text data...
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2007, 07:05:06 AM »

Yoohoo, I found it by myself. Here's how

First, select the bank number to retrieve data from (assuming you want to select bank #16):

Resource Bank 16

Then, give a variable the stored value of a slot in your bank:

MYTEXT$=Resource$(3)

Note that the "3" here corresponds to the desired slot number in your bank. It can be an expression.

This might sound like beginner's stuff, but, well... I am one!
Logged

SamuraiCrow

  • compile-time wierdo
  • Forum Mod
  • A1200
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 946
  • Compile-time wierdo
Re: Retrieving AMOS Bank text data...
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2007, 07:44:02 PM »

@Emaxe

I'm glad you figured it out because I couldn't find it in the manual, myself.
Logged

rednova

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 225
    • http://www.feryogi.com
Re: Retrieving AMOS Bank text data...
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2007, 08:00:24 PM »

Emaxe:

Dear Friend, I am happy you solved your problem. This is a great forum for amos users...here we can help one another to code new amiga games.
cheers!!!!

rednova
-mobilis in mobile-
Logged
-mobilis in mobile-

Lonewolf10

  • AMOS Extensions Developer
  • AMOS Dev
  • A2000
  • *****
  • Karma: 3
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 618
    • http://www.aliensrcooluk.com
Re: Retrieving AMOS Bank text data...
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2007, 09:11:27 PM »

@Emaxe

I'm glad you figured it out because I couldn't find it in the manual, myself.


It's part of the AMOS Interface commands (which I still haven't had a chance to try yet).
Personally I would have used the Peek$ command, but then I am much more at home with Poke, Peek etc. :)


Regards,
Lonewolf10

Logged

Emaxe

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 4
Re: Retrieving AMOS Bank text data...
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2007, 01:20:10 AM »

Peek and Poke? I don't know these... As soon as I get a chance (that is, when I'm back home), I check these out with Amos' great help system and examples!

And yes, rednova, I'm so happy this forum exists! And happy to know that people are still wanting to code in this cool Amos basic which brings back so many good memories!
« Last Edit: November 03, 2007, 01:24:04 AM by Emaxe »
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

TinyPortal 2.2.2 © 2005-2022