Ultimate Amiga

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Build Issue  (Read 4769 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Mia

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
  • Generic Amiga User
Build Issue
« on: September 18, 2016, 03:17:26 AM »

To catch up I've been building Amos Pro version 2.0

following some of the instructions on:
http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk/index.php/topic,9600.30.html

I actually got assembled without errors:

AMOSPro
AMOS.library
AMOSPro.Lib
AMOSPro_Compact.Lib
AMOSPro_Compiler.Lib
AMOSPro_IOPorts.Lib
AMOSPro_Music.Lib
AMOSPro_Request.Lib
Compiler.Lib

no editor...

but: there are many problems for me. for example, I can only partially run fxbox 1.3, version 1.4 and up crash at the testing stage. version 1.3 can create a sine wave and play it but it will crash with a "bell" sound after a bit of moving around the waveform. If i use the "About" requester or the file requester i get a fast repeated bell sound for about 2 seconds and then  a software failure.

I think it's important for me to know how to build amos,  but i think something is up - i used the devpac/genim/genam from the folder and added includes2.0 and pp/includes:
 
http://cd.textfiles.com/fredfish/v1.6/FF_Disks/391-420/FF_414/PPLib/include/libraries/

and the 4 pp LVO's that came up as errors I found:
http://www.ummon.eu/Amiga/_tmp/dokumentacja/txt/PowerPacker.Library.DOC.txt

I was going to then upgrade it to the 2.1 beta but I'm not sure where to go from here?

thanks,
« Last Edit: September 18, 2016, 03:30:55 AM by Mia »
Logged

Mia

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
  • Generic Amiga User
Re: Build Issue
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2016, 06:48:03 AM »

 ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)OK, I've got somewhere by modifying +Debug.s to 0 - it will test and run fxbox 1.5 fine now - but there is no menu and no sound so I must keep working.

My file sizes are slightly different for what I've done

AMOSPro                        32560
AMOS.library                   46948
AMOSPro.Lib                 149008
AMOSPro_Compiler.Lib     3952
AMOSPro_Music.Lib        12712
AMOSPro_Request.Lib        264
APCmp                            29528
Compiler.Lib                     29276


in the next session on it I will fix the menu and do the settings files, test the compiler, and attempt the editor.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2016, 06:52:19 AM by Mia »
Logged

Mia

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
  • Generic Amiga User
Re: Build Issue
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2016, 07:37:40 PM »

I couldn't put it down!

 8) done it - i though i was being clever by modifying the +equ.s BitControl to be 0 to 7 - so it broke the interrupts  (stupid in heinsight, but interesting though.)

and i now have a fully working fully compiled system, settings, abks etc. that run fxbox 1.5 completely - havn't tested it much yet, but i just loaded a sample bank and its playing fine.

I think i've compiled everything except that default_dbl as the JBB_Graphcics folder is missing default_am8c.iff or something - i will get that working... and i'm going to install the compiler and test that next, oh - there is something funny - Mouse Key no longer reports 0 and 1 - it's 4 and 5 - iwill investigate but i've modigifed my .amos code - bit strange, but i'm happy so far - i've recomiled all the build tools and modified the batch files so it works like a MakeFile now - woohoo

and i'll put 2.1 in there soon enough - jedi style!
Logged

bruceuncle

  • AMOS Dev
  • A500
  • *****
  • Karma: 6
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 425
  • WINUAE Amiga User
Re: Build Issue
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2016, 02:11:54 AM »

You've probably found some of this out for yourself, but some notes on compiling AMOS Pro from the original sources:

+W.s must be assembled with the -C option to force mixed case recognition.

+Lib.s has a leftover "illegal" instruction in the original source (line 4,541) presumably from a debugging session.

If you're using GenAm V3.02 (the one that came with the sources) "illegal" bit numbers should be okay.  If you're using GenAm V3.18 (recommended!) you'll need to include the line

      OPT   NOCHKBIT

for any sources that use "illegal" bit numbers in lines like this one:

      btst   #13,DmaConR(a6)

That prevents the heaps of warnings you'll get from the likes of +W.s.

All the necessary files should be in the original sources and in the beta V2.10.  So you can ignore the stuff in the JBB_Graphcics folder, etc.  Note that V2.10 is still under development so expect a lot to change.  Source synchronisation could get very interesting...   ::)

Above all, note that AMOS Pro does things within its own system architecture.  So any changes have to be carefully considered against the effects on "the way AMOS does it", otherwise disaster awaits as the code is very tightly coupled in places.  Your other thread on how to get the editor to scroll from a wheel mouse is a good example.  Don't hack it!  Incorporate it into the tables already used for handling keystrokes and functionality.  That way, macro compatibility, scope, etc. is maintained and easily changed without resorting to much by way of code changes.
Logged
Repeat after me ...  "The AMOS Pro architecture is complex but it is not complicated."

Mia

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
  • Generic Amiga User
Re: Build Issue
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2016, 05:01:38 PM »

thanks for the wise words, I reached a similar conclusion with the "Don't hack it" ideal as chipping in little changes gets frustrating for the grander picture as they get forgotten to be applied or change in one bit but not the other - I won't do that to myself either  ;)

didn't know about the OPT   NOCHKBIT option, it held me up for a little while of course, it was the menu not working thing - all super fine now ;-)


I've got everything compiled - rebuilt the default.abk fine - the only thing that doesn't work is the 3D library?

about source syncing - yeh this is the bit thats holding me back as well - I'm used to using SVN and GIT and very comfortable with branching and merging. but i'm also comfortable applying patches, but the fixes would need a unique ID.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

TinyPortal 2.2.2 © 2005-2022