Ultimate Amiga

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Issue with colors in my game :(  (Read 5327 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

xboxisfinished

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 205
  • Generic Amiga User
    • gamemakermagazine.com
Issue with colors in my game :(
« on: November 14, 2015, 09:35:52 PM »

I have plotted my graphics in object editor and saved it as objects.abk. The main character is colored white and when I load the objects.abk and plot it in my game it comes out as orange or yellow and all the colors in my game is offset from their original color setting even if the screen is black. What am I doing wrong?
Logged

SamuraiCrow

  • compile-time wierdo
  • Forum Mod
  • A1200
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 946
  • Compile-time wierdo
Re: Issue with colors in my game :(
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2015, 03:58:57 AM »

Isn't there a command to set the palette from the object bank?
Logged

xboxisfinished

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 205
  • Generic Amiga User
    • gamemakermagazine.com
Re: Issue with colors in my game :(
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2015, 04:30:54 AM »

Isn't there a command to set the palette from the object bank?

I used palette 0, $375 or something like that but it becomes a guess game to figure the correct combination of palette to get it right. Is there a specific palette parameters that I enter as default that gets proper colors of the sprites from *.abk file? By the way, what is that command?
Logged

SamuraiCrow

  • compile-time wierdo
  • Forum Mod
  • A1200
  • *****
  • Karma: 5
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 946
  • Compile-time wierdo
Re: Issue with colors in my game :(
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2015, 05:41:28 AM »

If you want to use sprites, they are palette entries 17 through 31.  For BOBs, they are the normal palette entries.

I don't remember the exact command but it is in the manual.
Logged

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 307
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3,364
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • AUW
Re: Issue with colors in my game :(
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2015, 09:46:11 PM »

We'd need more info about what screen is open, are you using bobs or sprites to draw... Have you tried using  GET SPRITE PALETTE etc.

There are some nice palettes storing functions in AMCAF I've used several time to avoid some of the "quirks" in Amos's colour commands. This is largely because of having created a "variable" palettes set for my loading screens though


Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

xboxisfinished

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 205
  • Generic Amiga User
    • gamemakermagazine.com
Re: Issue with colors in my game :(
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2015, 10:02:47 PM »

We'd need more info about what screen is open, are you using bobs or sprites to draw... Have you tried using  GET SPRITE PALETTE etc.

There are some nice palettes storing functions in AMCAF I've used several time to avoid some of the "quirks" in Amos's colour commands. This is largely because of having created a "variable" palettes set for my loading screens though

What I have done apparently is used Colour <n>,<data> that matches the palette originally in the correct order of objects.abk itself. It works in such away that even if all the colors in palettes in objects.abk is set to $000 for all the 16 colors and sprite look like black spot in the game it would still display the colors and show the sprites correctly because of the 16 colour codes I have used. I actually used them as reference when I accidentally screwed the palette colors in my object.abk and have it saved...I wrote down the color patterns again and went manually and refixed them in objects.abk and I am pleased on that.

So what is the point of this silly babbling? That I love AMOS and it is a truly fun programming language...this I am not denying. Putting that aside I removed sprite from my game all together and instead using paste bob which also means I introduced new set of bugs but I am fixing it slowly.....I am working on making sure there are no trails behind the character when he walks, make sure it does not destroy the graphical display of the other bob underneath it and to show animation and so on...working on all of that actually...truly fun...but I what discovered when using bob instead of sprite is with bob it looks smoothers....but I could be wrong. However, thanks to the concept of paste bob I can plot as many bobs as I want without fear of limitation and with my own internal collision detection instead of the predefined one in AMOS...I am truly happy. Progress of this game is growing bigger and bigger.

Here is another thing I learned now as I am typing this...thanks to the Colour <n>, <data> coded in my engine I can play with it..to give the screen fading out and fading in effect. I can write my own subroutine that says fade out...and slowly the entire screen turns pitch black as it slowly and progressively fades the colours to $000 all together.  When I execute the fade in subroutine that I will write down...it will increment the colors to the maximum value for each color command one point at a time giving the illusion the screen is showing again. With this I can make the screen go black...do all the drawing that makes it look AMOS like or ugly or whatever...and when all the drawing is done...fade in the screen again...and poof it shows the new level pattern and so on.

Ones I am done with all the bug fixes I want to study and learn Ctext as I am intending to replace all the fonts of my game with better and make new sexy TITLE font.
Logged

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 307
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3,364
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • AUW
Re: Issue with colors in my game :(
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2015, 10:47:03 PM »

Ok... So you are using the COLOUR command

However, you *could* grab the original palettes with GET BOB PALETTE, store all the entries automatically with the AMCAF commands, place the values into variables, and finally use those variables with the FADE command

I have had to do this myself in the past, and it avoid the need to manually store palette entries, particularly if you want different palettes for different levels wtc
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

xboxisfinished

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 205
  • Generic Amiga User
    • gamemakermagazine.com
Re: Issue with colors in my game :(
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2015, 11:01:56 PM »

Ok... So you are using the COLOUR command

However, you *could* grab the original palettes with GET BOB PALETTE, store all the entries automatically with the AMCAF commands, place the values into variables, and finally use those variables with the FADE command

I have had to do this myself in the past, and it avoid the need to manually store palette entries, particularly if you want different palettes for different levels wtc

Hu. That is diffidently something to look at it. Here is my plan. Fix the bugs complete right now. Make sure everything works 100% at the current stage of development. Then back up my code completely and follow your advice and get it work the way you suggested. Bare in mind, this is first time I am ever doing what you suggested, especially the part storing the values from palette in a variable and so on. I will look in the manual of course but don't surprised if I post here asking for help about this.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

TinyPortal 2.2.2 © 2005-2022